Yusef Lateef

Eastern Sounds (Small Batch, One-Step Pressing)

$99.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Yusef Lateef’s 1961 classic, Eastern Sounds, is the second release in our Small Batch series — a carefully curated one-step process vinyl collection that is devoted to creating the highest quality reissues of legendary recordings from our vast catalog. Originally released on Moodsville (an imprint of the legendary jazz label, Prestige Records), this pressing of this groundbreaking album will be limited to 1,000 copies.

This reissue features features all-analog mastering from the original tapes mastering engineer Bernie Grundman, who utilized a custom tube pre-amp and analog mixing console with discrete electronics—both made in-house—as well as a Scully solid-state lathe with custom electronics. Grundman’s lacquers were then sent to Record Technology Incorporated (RTI) for plating using the plant’s one-step process where the lacquers are used to create a “convert” that becomes the record stamper. Utilizing Neotech’s VR900 compound, Eastern Sounds was then pressed on to 180-gram vinyl.

Each pressing is individually numbered and housed in a foil-stamped, linen-wrapped slipcase featuring an acrylic inset of the original artwork. The vinyl disc is housed in a reproduction of the original album jacket, complete with tip-on jacket, and protected by an archival-quality, anti-static, non-scratching inner sleeve. New liner notes from liner notes from GRAMMY®-winning music historian, Ashley Kahn accompanies the title.

Please note, due to the limited nature of this pressing there is a per household limit of one copy. Product is excluded from discount code offers. 

Side A
A1. The Plum Blossom
A2. Blues For The Orient
A3. Ching Miau
A4. Don't Blame Me

Side B
B1. Love Theme From Spartacus
B2. Snafu
B3. Purple Flower
B4. Love Theme From The Robe
B5. The Three Faces Of Balal

• All-analog mastering by Bernie Grundman from the original master tapes
• Pressed at RTI utilizing Neotech’s VR900 compound
• Featuring liner notes from GRAMMY®-winning music historian, Ashley Kahn
• Housed in a foil-stamped, linen-wrapped slipcase
• Numbered and limited to 1,000 worldwide