David Porter

Victim Of The Joke?...An Opera (180g LP)

$23.98 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable


The 1971 concept album, Victim of the Joke?...An Opera is the third solo LP from the acclaimed producer, songwriter, and singer David Porter. Listed as one of the "100 Greatest Songwriters of All Time" by Rolling Stone, Porter established his career at Stax, working alongside writing partner Isaac Hayes. This ambitious LP stands as a testament to Porter’s endless creative spirit. Victim of the Joke pairs original pop-infused soul music and covers (including an infectious rendition of the Beatles' "Help!") with interludes of dialogue to tell the story of a love affair.


Side A

1. If I Give It Up, I Want It Back
2. When You Have To Sneak
3. Help!
4. (I’m Afraid) The Masquerade Is Over

Side B

1. Storm In The Summertime
2. Pretty Inside
3. Human
4. Airplane Ticket, Bus Ride, Can I Borrow Your Car?
5. Piece Of My Heart


• ALL-ANALOG mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl
• 180-gram vinyl pressed at Memphis Record Pressing