The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra (180g LP)

$29.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

This special 60th Anniversary reissue of groundbreaking jazz artist Sun Ra’s iconic 1962 album The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra features all-analog re-mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI. The package includes Tom Wilson’s original liner notes, plus insightful new essays by jazz historian Ben Young, as well as by Irwin Chusid, who is also a journalist, radio personality, and author. 

Engineered by Paul Cady, the sessions featured nine players, including Ra on piano, Bernard McKinney (later known as Kiane Zawadi, on trombone and euphonium), Marshall Allen (alto sax, flute, among other reed instruments), John Gilmore (tenor sax, bass clarinet), Pat Patrick (bass saxophone), Ronnie Boykins (bass), Willie Jones (drums), Leah Ananda (conga), and Ricky Murray (vocals).

Recorded in just one day, on October 10, 1961, The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra featured 11 tracks. Among the selections is the Latin-influenced opener, “Bassism,” the bluesy “Of Sounds and Something Else,” and the aptly named, “What’s That?,” which breaks into a four-saxophone improvisation, stands out as an example of Ra’s early experimental work.

Side A:
1. Bassism - (4.07)
2. Of Sounds and Something Else - (2.54)
3. What's That? - (2.15)
4. Where is Tomorrow? - (2.50)
5. The Beginning - (6.29)
6. China Gates (Victor Young) - (3.25)

Side B:
1. New Day - (5.51)
2. Tapestry From An Asteroid - (3.02)
3. Jet Flight - (3.15)
4. Looking Outward - (2.49)
5. Space Jazz Reverie - (4.54)

• 60th Anniversary Edition
• The first Sun Ra LP to be recorded by Arkestra in NYC
• Originally Produced by Tom Wilson
• ALL-ANALOG Mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
•Includes new essays by Irwin Chusid & Ben Young
• Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI