Ray Barretto Acid

1968 was a wondrous year of creativity and reinvention for Latin music in New York. Fania Records was at the epicenter of this musical revolution, releasing debut albums by Willie Colón, the Fania All Stars and Ismael Miranda’s initial outing with Larry Harlow’s Orchestra Harlow. As if that wasn’t enough, 1968 was also the year when Nuyorican conguero, bandleader and songwriter Ray Barretto began his collaboration with Fania, releasing the first of many classic LPs that would forever change the sound of salsa and Latin Soul. Produced by Harvey Averne – a successful Fania artist in his own right - Acid was Barretto’s much heralded debut for the label, a fully formed manifesto of creative freedom and tropical frenzy.

At the time, the Afro-Caribbean genre was in a wonderful state of flux. On the one hand, established bandleaders continued favoring the trusted tenets of mambo, son montuno and cha cha chá. At the same time, a new generation of rebellious youngsters – most of them born in the U.S. to Latino parents - launched the boogaloo sound, an insanely flavorful fusion of R&B, Soul and Latin rhythms.

Barretto turned 39 in 1968. An eclectic musician – he had already recorded jazz sessions with Herbie Mann and Tito Puente, his own charanga albums and a funky LP of 007 movie themes – he struck an inspired balance between tradition and futurism on Acid, blending salsa with boogaloo, Latin jazz and a dash of psychedelia.

Even though he would quickly leave boogaloo behind and embrace the hardcore salsa explosion of the ‘70s, Acid defined both the stylistic approach and core group of collaborators that would accompany Barretto during the artistic peak of his career. With the effusive vocalizing of Pete Bonet taking care of the English tracks, future salsa star Adalberto Santiago lends his authentic boricua flavor to the numbers sung in Spanish. Orestes Vilató unleashes his trademark percussive attack on the timbales, whereas Barretto himself is the rare exception of a conga player who could steal the spotlight if he so wanted but chooses to stay on top of the groove, never engaging in frivolous soloing.

Throughout the ‘70s, Barretto released one masterpiece after the other. Acid finds him at the beginning of his Fania journey – a record seeped in innocence and fever.


📰 Ray Barretto: A Man & His Music - Fania.com

Latin music expert Aurora Flores wrote these insightful liner notes to the definitive Barretto compilation.

📰 Before & After: Ray Barretto - Larry Applebaum Blog

A lovely interview with Barretto offering his thoughts on a variety of musicians and genres.

📰 Ernesto Lechner Talks Salsa Explosion - Impose Magazine

A story about discovering Fania Records and falling deeply in love with the music.  


“Sola Te Dejaré” – Ignore the typically misogynistic lyrics and focus instead on the incredibly tight groove that Barretto generates on this timeless salsa scorcher.

“Mercy, Mercy Baby” – The hypnotic bass line, the funky piano, the frantic vocalizing. Barretto generated Soul magic like no other bandleader.

“Espíritu Libre” – After dazzling his audience with seven brief dance tracks, Barretto leads Acid into a majestic finale with this eight-minute instrumental descarga filled with conga accents and dissonant brass riffs.


  • While innovating one of the most beloved genres in Latin music history, NYC salsa musicians were also busy trying to make ends meet. Cuban trumpet player Roberto Rodríguez worked as the manager of an auto shop, yet never missed a gig or rehearsal with Barretto.
  • Even though he gigged and recorded albums at a breakneck pace, Barretto also found the time to play congas with his label’s mega-orchestra, the Fania All Stars.
  • Barretto loved salsa but never forgot his lifelong love of jazz. In 1973, he shocked fans by releasing The Other Road – a then misunderstood session of jazz-rock in the mode of Chick Corea’s Return to Forever.

Listen to Acid in its entirety on your preferred streaming platform below.  


Words: Ernesto Lechner

← Older Post Newer Post →

Featured product

Rudy: The Deluxe Edition (CD)

Rudy: The Deluxe Edition (CD)

$19.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Limited Edition of 3,000 copies

Jerry Goldsmith’s favorite projects, especially late in life, were films that spotlighted people—their hopes, feelings and relationships. And no film was a better fit for Goldsmith’s artistic passion than Rudy: the 1993 true-life story of Daniel “Rudy” Ruettiger (Sean Astin), an undersized grinder whose quixotic dream to play Notre Dame Fighting Irish football came true for a few brief plays in 1975.

For Rudy, Goldsmith reteamed with Hoosiers director David Anspaugh and writer Angelo Pizzo for another crowd-pleasing, critically acclaimed Indiana sports movie that became part of the pantheon. The score is heartfelt, warm and melodic, speaking to the universal grandeur of one man’s underdog quest. Goldsmith’s propulsive melody for the football sequences—an uplifting, balletic, driving approach—is a majestic triumph, and quickly became repurposed for trailers, commercials and actual sporting events. 

“There are so few things in the world that you can stand up and scream from the rooftops and not care what anyone says, because you know there’s absolute right and absolute wrong,” says Rudy himself, in a new interview for this release. “And it is an absolute right and an absolute truth that this score by Jerry Goldsmith is perfect. It’s a perfect score.”

Varèse Sarabande released the Rudy soundtrack in 1993 in a 37-minute program. This Deluxe Edition expands the sequence to 67 minutes, including the film’s a cappella recordings of the classic “Hike, Notre Dame!” and “Notre Dame Victory March.” Liner notes by Tim Greiving feature new interview material with Rudy, Pizzo, Anspaugh and Astin—as well as Get Out composer Michael Abels, who worked at the sessions—and archival comments by Goldsmith and contractor JoAnn Kane.

1. Main Title 3:34
2. No Catch 1:05
3. The Speech/Last Game/Be Grateful 1:33
4. The Jacket 1:38
5. To Notre Dame 6:53
6. A Start 2:24
7. More Girls :42
8. Hike Notre Dame! 1:24
9. The Plaque 2:34
10. Empty Stadium/The Key 3:40
11. Training 1:24
12. More Training 1:26
13. Accepted 1:43
14. Tryouts 4:25
15. Notre Dame Victory March 1:36
16. For Father :46
17. Waiting 2:33
18. Back On The Field 2:04
19. Team Play/Ready Champ? 1:46
20. Take Us Out 1:48
21. The Final Game 6:12
22. Tryouts 4:25
23. The Key 3:52
24. To Notre Dame 6:56

• Limited Edition of 3000 copies
• This Deluxe Edition expands the sequence to 67 minutes, including the film’s a cappella recordings of the classic “Hike, Notre Dame!” and “Notre Dame Victory March.”
• Liner notes by Tim Greiving feature new interview material with Rudy, Pizzo, Anspaugh and Astin—as well as Get Out composer Michael Abels, who worked at the sessions—and archival comments by Goldsmith and contractor JoAnn Kane.