Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song (180g LP)

$29.98 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable




The remastered LP also includes new liner notes from author, journalist and music critic Jeff Weiss, as well as from Melvin’s son Mario Van Peebles, director of New Jack City (1991) and 2003’s Baadasssss!, which chronicles the making of his father’s landmark film.

The soundtrack features a combination of hymn-based vocalization and jazz rhythms, capturing the funky, gritty and soulful spirit of the time, and foreshadowing the use of sampling that would occur in hip hop music, some 20 years later. Weiss adds, “The soundtrack operates like a surrealist Mobius strip comprised of call-and-response chants against the man…It’s as avant-garde as the film’s kinetic mix of psychedelic jump cuts and dream-like sequences. The music becomes a character itself, unseen but forcefully heard.”



Side A
1 Sweetback Losing His Cherry 
2 Sweetback Getting It Uptight And Preaching It So Hard The Bourgeois Reggin Angels In Heaven Turn Around 
3 Come On Feet
4 Sweetback's Theme  

Side B: 
1 Hoppin John 
2 Mojo Woman 
3 Sanra Z 
4 Reggins Hangin On In There As Best They Can 
5 Wont Bleed Me 
6 The Man Tries Running His Usual Game But Sweetback's Jones Is So Strong He Wastes The Hounds (Yeah! Yeah! And Besides That Will Be Coming Back Takin Names & Collecting Dues) 



  • Performed by a then-unknown Earth, Wind & Fire with contributions by Van Peebles

  • Remastered from the original analog tapes

  • Cut to the original Stax lathe at Memphis' Ardent studios, then pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Memphis Record pressing

  • Includes new liner notes from Music critic Jeff Weiss and Melvin's son Mario Van Peebles