Vince Guaraldi

Jazz Impressions Of Black Orpheus: Deluxe Edition (Digital Album)

$18.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Celebrating the 60th anniversary of Vince Guaraldi Trio's breakthrough, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus, this deluxe and expanded reissue offers 16 bonus tracks, including 12 previously unreleased selections, with outtakes and alternate takes of nearly every track on the album.  Produced by Nick Phillips, the digital set was remastered by engineer Paul Blakemore.

Released in April 1962, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus made Guaraldi a household name—thanks, in large part, to the irresistible sounds of “Cast Your Fate to the Wind.” Released as the B-side to “Samba de Orpheus,” the instrumental track was embraced by DJs across the country, eventually landing at No.22 on the Billboard Hot 100 and No.9 on the Easy Listening chart. In 1963, “Cast Your Fate to the Wind” earned Guaraldi a GRAMMY(R) for Best Original Jazz Composition. Over the years, the track would be covered by a range of artists, including Quincy Jones, George Benson, Allen Toussaint, the James Gang, and Mel Tormé (who added lyrics).

Perhaps most famously, however, the tune caught the ear of television producer Lee Mendelson, who was searching for a musician to score a documentary about PEANUTS® creator, Charles M. Schulz, and his popular comic strip. While the film was never released, Guaraldi recorded the soundtrack to A Charlie Brown Christmas the following year—creating one of the best-selling jazz and holiday albums of all time in the process. Before his sudden death in 1976, Guaraldi would score more than a dozen PEANUTS animated specials. Yet, the pianist’s musical legacy extends far beyond those enduring soundtracks, and Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus is a prime example of that.

Small Batch one-step lacquer process edition of the original album also available (limited to 3,000). Click here for more details.

Also available as a one-step Small Batch edition, deluxe 3-LP and deluxe 2-CD.

1. Samba de Orfeu
2. Manhã de Carnaval
3. Nosso Amor
4. Felicidade
5. Cast Your Fate To The Wind
6. Moon River
7. Alma-Ville
8. Since I Fell For You
9. Samba de Orfeu (Short Version: Take 1, Set 3, Previously Unreleased)
10. Samba de Orfeu (Long Version: Take 1, Set 3, Previously Unreleased)
11. Manhã de Carnaval (Take 1, Set 3, Previously Unreleased)
12. Manhã de Carnaval (Take 2, Set 3)
13. Nosso Amor (Take 1, Set 3, Previously Unreleased)
14. Nosso Amor (Take 2, Set 4, Previously Unreleased)
15. Felicidade (Take 2, Set 2)
16. Felicidade (Take 4, Set 3 Previously Unreleased)
17. Cast Your Fate To The Wind (Take 2, Previously Unreleased)
18. Cast Your Fate To The Wind (Take 3)
19. Cast Your Fate To The Wind (Take 5, Previously Unreleased)
20. Alma-Ville (Take 2, Previously Unreleased)
21. Since I Fell For You (Take 3, Previously Unreleased)
22. Jitterbug Waltz (Take 1, Previously Unreleased)
23. Jitterbug Waltz (Take 1A, Previously Unreleased)
24. Jitterbug Waltz (Take 2A, Previously Unreleased)

• 24 track set consisting of the original album and 16 bonus tracks
• Remastered by GRAMMY® Award-winning engineer Paul Blakemore

Buy it with

Jazz Impressions Of Black Orpheus (Small Batch, One-Step Pressing)