Vince Guaraldi

Jazz Impressions Of Black Orpheus (Small Batch, One-Step Pressing)

$99.00 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Vince Guaraldi Trio’s GRAMMY® Award-winning, breakthrough album, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus, is the fourth release in our Small Batch series — a carefully curated one-step lacquer process collection that’s devoted to creating the highest quality reissues of legendary recordings from our vast catalog.

As with previous Small Batch pressings, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus was cut from its original analog tapes by legendary engineer Bernie Grundman and pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI using Neotech’s VR900 compound and a one-step lacquer process—as opposed to the standard three-step process—allowing for the utmost level of musical detail, clarity, and dynamics while reducing the amount of surface noise on the record. The limited nature of these pressings guarantees that each record is a true representation of the original lacquer and is as close as the listener can get to the original recording.

Released in April 1962, Jazz Impressions of Black Orpheus made Guaraldi a household name—thanks, in large part, to the irresistible sounds of “Cast Your Fate to the Wind. In 1963, the song earned Guaraldi a GRAMMY for “Best Original Jazz Composition.” Over the years, it would be covered by a range of artists, including Quincy Jones, George Benson, Allen Toussaint, the James Gang, and Mel Tormé (who added lyrics). Perhaps most famously, however, the tune caught the ear of television producer Lee Mendelson, who was searching for a musician to score a documentary about PEANUTS® creator, Charles M. Schulz, and his popular comic strip. While the film was never released, Guaraldi recorded the soundtrack to A Charlie Brown Christmas the following year—creating one of the best-selling jazz and holiday albums of all time in the process.

This Small Batch edition is limited to 3,000 copies worldwide. Each pressing is individually numbered and encased in a foil-stamped, linen-wrapped slipcase featuring an acrylic inset of the original artwork. The vinyl disc—extractable through a unique, frictionless ribbon pull-tab—is housed in a reproduction of the album’s original, tip-on jacket and protected by an archival-quality, anti-static, non-scratching inner sleeve. Rounding out the package are new liner notes by Derrick Bang, the foremost Guaraldi historian and author of Vince Guaraldi at the Piano (McFarland & Company).  

Please note, due to the limited nature of this pressing there is a strictly enforced, per-household limit of two copies. Product is excluded from discount code offers.

Expanded Deluxe Edition of the album also available on 3-LP, 2-CD and 24-track digital configurations (inc. Hi-Res.). Click here for more details.

A1. Samba de Orfeu
A2. Manhã de Carnaval
A3. Nosso Amor
A4. Felicidade
B1. Cast Your Fate to the Wind
B2. Moon River
B3. Alma-Ville
B4. Since I Fell for You

• Pressed using a one-step lacquer process at RTI utilizing Neotech’s VR900 compound
• All-analog mastering by Bernie Grundman from the original master tapes
• Liner notes from Derrick Bang, the foremost Guaraldi historian
• Housed in a foil-stamped, linen-wrapped slipcase
• Numbered and limited to 3,000

Buy it with

Relaxin’ With The Miles Davis Quintet (Small Batch, One-Step Pressing)