Stax Records

The Living Word: Wattstax 2 2-LP

$24.00 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable


To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event that took place at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum on 20th August 1972, Stax Records reissues “The Living Word: Wattstax 2”. These two LP’s are cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth and feature performances by The Emotions, Johnnie Taylor, Kim Weston, Isaac Hayes and more.


1. Jessie Jackson – Introduction
2. Kim Weston – Lift Every Voice and Sing
3. The Rance Allen Group – Lying on the Truth
4. Jimmy Jones – Someone Greater Than You And I
5. The Golden 13 – Old Time Religion
6. The Emotions – Peace Be Still

1. Richard Pryor – Saturday Night
2. Richard Pryor – Blue Note
3. Richard Pryor – Back Room
4. David Porter Show – Introduction
5. David Porter Show – Ain’t That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)
6. David Porter Show – Can’t See You When I Want To
7. David Porter Show – Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)
8. David Porter Show – Finale
9. Richard Pryor – Arrest
10. Richard Pryor – Line Up

1. Johnnie Taylor Show – Introduction
2. Johnnie Taylor Show – Steal Away
3. Johnnie Taylor Show – Stop Doggin’ Me
4. Johnnie Taylor Show – Jody’s Got Your Girl and Gone
5. Little Milton – Walking the Back Streets and Crying

1. Richard Pryor – Niggers
2. The Emotions – Group Introduction
3. The Emotions – So I Can Love You
4. The Emotions – Show Me How
5. Richard Pryor – Negroes
6. The Dramatics – Whatcha See Is Whatcha Get
7. Richard Pryor – Handshake
8. Mel & Tim – I May Not Be What You Want
9. Richard Pryor – Wino Get a Job
10. Isaac Hayes – Rolling Down a Mountainside

• 2-LP Gatefold release
• 50th Anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event
• Highlights from the Wattstax events at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum and the Summit Club
• Cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth