Sun Ra

The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra (Hi-Res Digital Album)

$14.39 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Deliverable via email in your choice of MP3, WAV, ALAC, or FLAC.

This special 60th Anniversary reissue of groundbreaking jazz artist Sun Ra’s iconic 1962 album The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra features re-mastering by Paul Blakemore. 

Engineered by Paul Cady, the sessions featured nine players, including Ra on piano, Bernard McKinney (later known as Kiane Zawadi, on trombone and euphonium), Marshall Allen (alto sax, flute, among other reed instruments), John Gilmore (tenor sax, bass clarinet), Pat Patrick (bass saxophone), Ronnie Boykins (bass), Willie Jones (drums), Leah Ananda (conga), and Ricky Murray (vocals).

Recorded in just one day, on October 10, 1961, The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra featured 11 tracks. Among the selections is the Latin-influenced opener, “Bassism,” the bluesy “Of Sounds and Something Else,” and the aptly named, “What’s That?,” which breaks into a four-saxophone improvisation, stands out as an example of Ra’s early experimental work.

Side A:
1. Bassism - (4.07)
2. Of Sounds and Something Else - (2.54)
3. What's That? - (2.15)
4. Where is Tomorrow? - (2.50)
5. The Beginning - (6.29)
6. China Gates (Victor Young) - (3.25)

Side B:
1. New Day - (5.51)
2. Tapestry From An Asteroid - (3.02)
3. Jet Flight - (3.15)
4. Looking Outward - (2.49)
5. Space Jazz Reverie - (4.54)

• 60th Anniversary Edition
• The first Sun Ra LP to be recorded by Arkestra in NYC
• Originally Produced by Tom Wilson
• ALL-ANALOG Mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• Includes new essays by Irwin Chusid & Ben Young
• Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI