John Coltrane

Coltrane '58: The Prestige Recordings (Digital Album)

$19.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable


Deliverable via email in your choice of MP3, hi-res WAV or hi-res FLAC.

Coltrane’s breakout year, when his mature sound first grabbed ears and his own recordings began to sell consistently, was 1958. This release chronicles the exciting story session by session, featuring all 37 tracks Coltrane recorded as a leader or co-leader for the independent Prestige Records label in those twelve months. This collection captures him in creative high gear—developing the signature improvisational style that journalist Ira Gitler famously dubbed “sheets of sound.” The timely release marks the 70th year since the founding of Prestige and comes just after the 60th anniversary of these recordings.

1. Lush Life
2. Come Rain or Come Shine
3. The Believer
4. Nakatini Serenade
5. Lover
6. Russian Lullaby
7. Theme for Ernie
8. You Say You Care
9. Good Bait
10. I Want to Talk About You
11. Lyresto
12. Why Was I Born
13. Freight Trane
14. I Never Knew
15. Big Paul
16. I See Your Face Before Me
17. Rise and Shine
18. Little Melonae
19. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
20. By the Numbers
21. Black Pearls
22. Lover Come Back to Me
23. Sweet Sapphire Blues
24. Spring Is Here
25. Invitation
26. I'm a Dreamer (Aren’t We All)
27. Love Thy Neighbor
28. Don't Take Your Love From Me
29. Stardust
30. My Ideal
31. I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
32. Do I Love You Because You Are Beautiful
33. Then I'll Be Tired of You
34. Something I Dreamed Last Night
35. Bahia
36. Goldsboro Express
37. Time After Time

• Audio remastered from the original analog tapes by Paul Blakemore (all of which were recorded by renowned engineer Rudy Van Gelder)