John Lee Hooker

Burning Hell (Bluesville Series) (CD)

$15.00 Sale Save
Release Date: July 19, 2024

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

PRE-ORDER ITEM! Order will be fulfilled when the stock arrives by expected ship date listed below. We recommend placing separate orders for pre-order and in-stock items. Orders with pre-order items will not ship until all pre-order items arrive.

Expected to ship the week of July 19, 2024.

Burning Hell was recorded in 1959 in Detroit, MI, but wasn’t released until 1964. Even then, it was only available in the UK. Pressed at QRP as part of the Bluesville Records / Acoustic Sounds series, the album features Hooker solo as he plays originals and classics. AllMusic states that, on this album, “Hooker shows himself to be an excellent interpreter who could have held his own with Delta bluesmen of any era.” 

1. Burning Hell
2. Graveyard Blues
3. Baby Please Don't Go
4. Jackson, Tennessee
5. You Live Your Life And I'll Live Mine
6. Smokestack Lightnin'
7. How Can You Do It?
8. I Don't Want No Woman If Her Hair Ain't No Longer Than Mine
9. I Rolled And Turned And Cried The Whole Night Long
10. Blues For My Baby
11. Key To The Highway
12. Natchez Fire

- Pressed at QRP
- John Lee Hooker solo acoustic album
- Original master tapes by Matthew Lutthans at The Mastering Lab