The New Folk Sound (Deluxe Edition LP)

$37.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Terry Callier conveys the promise and power in The New Folk Sound of Terry Callier, capturing a young man in his element, his voice and soul, jazz and folk-infused songs timeless.  This new version includes five previously unreleased alternate takes (“900 Miles,” “Promenade In Green,” “It’s About Time” and “Be My Woman”) along with two tracks making their vinyl debut (“Jack O’Diamonds” and “Golden Apples of the Sun”), as well as new liner notes by Jason Woodbury which help narrate this lost gem.

Side 1
A1. 900 Miles
A2. Oh Dear, What Can the Matter Be
A3. Johnny Be Gay If You Can Be
A4. Cotton Eyed Joe

Side 2
B1. It’s About Time
B2. Promenade in Green
B3. Spin, Spin, Spin
B4. I’m a Drifter

Side 3
C1. Jack O’Diamonds
C2. Golden Apples of the Sun
C3. Promenade in Green [take 1]*

Side 4
D1. Be My Woman [take 1]*
D2. 900 Miles [take 1]*
D3. It’s About Time [take 2]*
D4. Oh Dear, What Can The Matter Be [take 2]*

*previously unreleased

• The first official vinyl reissue of this album, pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI
• Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
• New liner notes narrate this almost-“lost album,” recorded in 1965 and originally released in 1968
• Features previously unreleased alternate versionsincluding “900 Miles,” “Promenade in Green” and“Be My Woman”