Automatic For The People (4-Disc CD/Blu-Ray Box Set)

$89.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

This four-disc Deluxe Edition offers a wealth of previously unreleased material. The first disc offers the full original Automatic For The People album. Disc-two features 20 never-before-heard demos from the LP’s sessions, including the fully-realized, unreleased track “Mike’s Pop Song” and the oft-mused about song, “Devil Rides Backwards.”

Disc 3 offers a full live set, Live At The 40 Watt Club 11/19/92. Performed in R.E.M.’s hometown of Athens, GA, it was the band’s only live show that year. And the final fourth disc is a companion Blu-ray, offering a surround sound Dolby Atmos mix (mixed by the album's original producer, Scott Litt, and engineer, Clif Norrell), plus a high-resolution master of Automatic For The People, seven music videos and the original 1992 EPK video. 

R.E.M. were at the height of their popularity when they released their eighth studio album, Automatic for the People. They took the creative license that came along with multi-platinum, MTV-saturating success and made a slow, meditative, downright funereal album. It was a masterpiece. Widely regarded as one of the best rock albums of all time, Automatic for the People reached #1 on UK charts and #2 in the US, selling over 18 million copies worldwide. It also received 1994 GRAMMY nominations for "Album of the Year" and "Best Alternative Music Album" with major singles “Man on the Moon” and “Everybody Hurts” garnering GRAMMY nods as well.

Disc 1 – Automatic For The People
1. Drive
2. Try Not to Breathe
3. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
4. Everybody Hurts
5. New Orleans Instrumental No. 1
6. Sweetness Follows
7. Monty Got A Raw Deal
8. Ignoreland
9. Star Me Kitten
10. Man on the Moon
11. Nightswimming
12. Find the River

Disc 2 – Live At The 40 Watt Club
1. Drive
2. Monty Got A Raw Deal
3. Everybody Hurts
4. Man On The Moon
5. Losing My Religion
6. Country Feedback
7. Begin The Begin
8. Fall On Me
9. Me In Honey
10. Finest Worksong
11. Love Is All Around
12. Funtime
13. Radio Free Europe

Disc 3 – Automatic For The People Demos
1. Drive (demo)
2. Wake Her Up (demo)
3. Mike’s Pop Song (demo)
4. C to D Slide 13 (demo)
5. Cello Scud (demo)
6. 10K Minimal (demo)
7. Peter’s New Song (demo)
8. Eastern 983111 (demo)
9. Bill’s Acoustic (demo)
10. Arabic Feedback (demo)
11. Howler Monkey (demo)
12. Pakiderm (demo)
13. Afterthought (demo)
14. Bazouki Song (demo)
15. Photograph (demo)
16. Michael’s Organ (demo)
17. Pete’s Acoustic Idea (demo)
18. 6-8 Passion & Voc (demo)
19. Hey Love [Mike voc] (demo)
20. Devil Rides Backwards (demo)

Disc 4 – Automatic For The People Blu-Ray
1. Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) mixed in Dolby Atmos
2. Automatic For The People (+ bonus track: Photograph) Hi-Resolution Audio
3. Drive (music video)
4. The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite (music video)
5. Everybody Hurts (music video)
6. Man On The Moon (music video)
7. Nightswimming (music video: British version)
8. Find The River (music video)
9. Nightswimming (music video: R version)
10. Automatic Press Kit

• 4-disc CD & Blu-ray deluxe edition housed in a 12” x 12” lift-top box
• Features a 60-page book, offering never-before-seen photos by Anton Corbijn and Melodie McDaniel
• New liner notes by Scottish music journalist Tom Doyle who conducted new interviews with all four band members
• Included is a companion Blu-ray, offering the Dolby Atmos mix, plus a high-resolution master of Automatic For The People, seven music videos and the original 1992 EPK video