Ornette Coleman

Tomorrow is the Question! (SACD - Craft Exclusive)

$29.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

This Hybrid SACD contains a standard layer which can be played in any CD player, and a high-resolution layer which requires a SACD player.

SACD edition of Ornette Coleman's Tomorrow is the Question!, exclusive to the Craft Recordings webstore.

Ornette Coleman’s second album Tomorrow is the Question! (1959) has been newly mastered by Bernie Grundman from the original tapes for this new SACD format. Featuring Don Cherry, Shelly Manne, and either Percy Heath or Red Mitchell on bass, the emphatic, pianoless Tomorrow Is the Question! made it clear that Coleman’s concepts were both insistently innovative and tethered to bedrock African American idioms. Consisting entirely of Coleman originals, the album introduced several tunes that became an essential part of the jazz canon, including “Tears Inside,” “Rejoicing” and “Turnaround.” 

    1. Tomorrow Is The Question! (3:09)
    2. Tears Inside (5:00)
    3. Mind And Time (3:08)
    4. Compassion (4:37)
    5. Giggin' (3:19)
    6. Rejoicing (4:04)
    7. Lorraine (5:55)
    8. Turnaround (7:55)
    9. Endless (5:18)

    • Recorded by Contemporary Records' legendary engineer Roy DuNann and newly mastered from the original tapes by Bernie Grundman