La Voz (180g Apple Red LP- Fania Exclusive)

$29.98 Sale Save
Release Date: June 23, 2023

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Expected to ship the week of June 23, 2023.

This product is a PRE-ORDER. Ships on or before June 23, 2023.

Lavoe made his solo debut on the Colón-produced album La Voz in 1975. The album reached gold. José Febles arranged Lavoe’s composition “Paraíso de Dulzura” and dazzlingly updated the ’50s Chappottín classic “Rompe Saragüey,” featuring an elegant and ingenious 2:30 minute piano solo by Mark “Markolino” Dimond. Dimond played piano on Colón’s second and third albums, The Hustler (c. 1968 on Fania) and Guisando – Doing A Job (c. 1969 on Fania) and wrote a track for each record. Other highlights of La Voz are “El Todopoderoso,” co-written by Lavoe and Colón, who arranged the number, and the Johnny Pacheco penned anthem “Mi Gente”, also arranged by Colón. In May the following year, Lavoe garnered Latin NY magazine awards for “Best Male Vocalist” and “Best Conjunto”.

Side A
1. El Todopoderoso
2. Emborrachame de Amor
3. Paraíso de Dulzura
4. Un Amor de la Calle

Side B
1. Rompe Saragüey
2. Mucho Amor
3. Tus Ojos
4. Mi Gente

• Hector’s first solo outing.
• Features the perennial classic “Mi Gente” and other standouts.
• Feature many of Willie Colons original band members.
• ALL-ANALOG mastering from original tapes
• Pressed on 180-gram vinyl