The Wave of Electric Sound: Deluxe Edition (180g 4-LP Box Set)

$99.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

1967 marked an era of creative expression, political rebellion and experimentation, climaxing in The Summer of Love; and no other location on Earth was quite as synonymous with this period as San Francisco  ̶  the center of  the counterculture movement.

Perhaps one of the best musical representations of this time, place and environment came from a rock band across the Bay, who married progressive protest with groundbreaking, experimental music: Country Joe & the Fish. In that one year, the Berkeley musicians rose to prominence.

This deluxe 4-LP box set, The Wave of Electrical Sound, offers both mono and stereo versions of Electric Music for the Mind and Body and I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die. All four remastered LPs will be pressed on audiophile quality, 180-gram vinyl  – the mono Electric Music for the Mind and Body LP will feature rare, alternate cover artwork, while the other titles will be in replicas of their original packaging.

The Wave of Electrical Sound also contains a bounty of band ephemera from 1967, including replicas of The Fish Game, a Fish Fan Club book and a Fish calendar designed by Tom Weller. Also included is a DVD of How We Stopped the War, a 30-minute documentary, filming the band on their way to an anti-Vietnam War rally, directed by David Peoples (writer of Blade Runner, Twelve Monkeys, Unforgiven), as well as a 24-page book, which features rare photos, artwork and new liner notes from writer, producer and musician Alec Palao. A must-have for Fishfans, the collection offers a deep look into the band’s sonic progression, and innovative uses of electronic instrumentation and distortion, all of which helped to usher in the genre of psychedelia.

LP 1: Electric Music for the Mind and Body (Mono)
A1. Flying High
A2. Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
A3. Death Sound
A4. Porpoise Mouth
A5. Section 43
B1. Super Bird
B2. Sad and Lonely Times
B3. Love
B4. Bass Strings
B5. The Masked Marauder
B6. Grace

LP 2: I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die (Mono)
C1. The Fish Cheer & I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag
C2. Who Am I
C3. Pat’s Song
C4. Rock Coast Blues
C5. Magoo
D1. Janis
D2. Thought Dream
D3. Thursday
D4. Eastern Jam
D5. Colors For Susan

LP 3: Electric Music for the Mind and Body (Stereo)
E1. Flying High
E2. Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
E3. Death Sound
E4. Porpoise Mouth
E5. Section 43
F1. Super Bird
F2. Sad and Lonely Times
F3. Love
F4. Bass Strings
F5. The Masked Marauder
F6. Grace

LP 4: I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die (Stereo)
G1. The Fish Cheer & I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag
G2. Who Am I
G3. Pat’s Song
G4. Rock Coast Blues
G5. Magoo
H1. Janis
H2. Thought Dream
H3. Thursday
H4. Eastern Jam
H5. Colors For Susan

• Deluxe 4-LP Box Set
• Limited to 2,000 copies worldwide
• 180-gram vinyl
• Housed in old-school style tip-on jackets
• New liner notes from writer, producer and musician Alec Palao