Gotta Groove (180g LP)

$29.98 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable


Released in 1969 on Stax subsidiary label Volt Records, the Bar-KaysGotta Groove marked a triumphant return by a band reeling from tragedy after four members of the band were killed in a plane crash with Otis Redding in 1967. Surviving members Ben Cauley and James Alexander rebuilt the Bar-Kays with new musicians, and by 1969 they were back in the studio working with artists like Isaac Hayes.

Gotta Groove was their first release with the new members and it stands as a testament to their resilience and talent. Highlights of the album include the psychedelic grooves of two-part song "Don't Stop Dancing (To the Music)," the jazz-tinged soul of Marvin Gaye cover, “If This World Were Mine,” and instrumental renditions of The Beatles’ “Yesterday” and “Hey Jude.”


Side A
1. Don’t Stop Dancing (To The Music) (Part I)
2. If This World Were Mine
3. In The Hole
4. Funky Thang
5. Jiving Round
6. Grab This Thing

Side B
1. Don’t Stop Dancing (To The Music) (Part II)
2. Street Walker
3. Yesterday
4. Humpin’
5. Hey Jude


• 50th Anniversary reissue
• ALL-ANALOG mastering by Jeff Powell at Take Out Vinyl
• 180-gram vinyl pressed at Memphis Record Pressing
• Classic tip-on jacket