The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra 180g LP + Art on Saturn Hardcover Book (Bundle)

$94.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

This bundle contains Sun Ra's The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra on 180-gram vinyl and a hardcover book copy of the Art of Saturn compiled by Irwin ChusidJohn Corbett and Glenn Jones.

The Futuristic Sounds Of Sun Ra (180g LP)
This special 60th Anniversary reissue of groundbreaking jazz artist Sun Ra’s iconic 1962 album The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra features all-analog re-mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio, pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI. The package includes Tom Wilson’s original liner notes, plus insightful new essays by jazz historian Ben Young, as well as by Irwin Chusid, who is also a journalist, radio personality, and author. 

Engineered by Paul Cady, the sessions featured nine players, including Ra on piano, Bernard McKinney (later known as Kiane Zawadi, on trombone and euphonium), Marshall Allen (alto sax, flute, among other reed instruments), John Gilmore (tenor sax, bass clarinet), Pat Patrick (bass saxophone), Ronnie Boykins (bass), Willie Jones (drums), Leah Ananda (conga), and Ricky Murray (vocals).

Recorded in just one day, on October 10, 1961, The Futuristic Sounds of Sun Ra featured 11 tracks. Among the selections is the Latin-influenced opener, “Bassism,” the bluesy “Of Sounds and Something Else,” and the aptly named, “What’s That?,” which breaks into a four-saxophone improvisation, stands out as an example of Ra’s early experimental work.

Sun Ra: Art on Saturn - The Album Cover Art of Sun Ra's Saturn (Hardcover Book)
Drawn from private collections, this is the first comprehensive collection of the Saturn label’s record covers, along with hundreds of hand-designed, one-of-a-kind sleeves and labels decorated by Sun Ra and members of his Arkestra. In his 45-year recording career, he issued an epic number of albums and these records were sold at concerts, club dates, and by mail order. More than just packaging for a slab of vinyl, they are works of art in their own right. The books also includes essays by Sun Ra catalog preservationist Irwin Chusid, noted Ra scholars John Corbett and Glenn Jones. This book is a tribute to the covers and to the uncredited visual artists and their rich imaginations.

Side A:
1. Bassism - (4.07)
2. Of Sounds and Something Else - (2.54)
3. What's That? - (2.15)
4. Where is Tomorrow? - (2.50)
5. The Beginning - (6.29)
6. China Gates (Victor Young) - (3.25)

Side B:
1. New Day - (5.51)
2. Tapestry From An Asteroid - (3.02)
3. Jet Flight - (3.15)
4. Looking Outward - (2.49)
5. Space Jazz Reverie - (4.54)

• 60th Anniversary Edition
• The first Sun Ra LP to be recorded by Arkestra in NYC
• Originally Produced by Tom Wilson
• ALL-ANALOG Mastering by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
•Includes new essays by Irwin Chusid & Ben Young
• Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI