Mambo Diablo (180-gram)

$29.98 Sale Save
Release Date: May 26, 2023

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Although he was never inactive, the 1980s found Tito Puente in a bit of a renaissance. His exciting Afro-Cuban jazz band had found a home on the Concord Picante label, and his music was increasing in popularity again. This particular album has a stronger than usual repertoire, including "Take Five," "Lush Life" (done as Latin jazz), "Pick Yourself Up" and "Lullaby of Birdland"; the latter song has its composer George Shearing guesting on piano. Puente wrote half of the arrangements, contributed some excellent playing on timbales and vibes, and is heard heading a spirited three-horn, three-percussion octet. Tito’s style of Jazz at its best.

Limited to 300 copies on 180-gram Vinyl.

Exclusive to Fania and Craft Recordings' webstores.

Side A
1 Mambo Diablo
2 Take Five
3 Lush Life
4 Pick Yourself Up

Side B
5 Lullaby Of Birdland
6 No Pienses Así
7 China
8 Eastern Joy Dance

• The King of Latin Jazz
• Grammy winning album that features Classic Jazz standards alongside Tito’s Latin compositions
• ALL-ANALOG mastering from original tapes
• Pressed on 180-gram vinyl