Genesis of Genius: SACD Bundle (2-SACD)

$54.99 Sale Save

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

This bundle contains SACD copies of Something Else!!!! and Tomorrow is the Question!, both exclusive to Craft Recordings' store, bundled at a discounted price for a limited time.

These Hybrid SACDs contain a standard layer which can be played in any CD player, and a high-resolution layer which requires a SACD player.

Ornette Coleman - Something Else!!!! The Music of Ornette Coleman (SACD)

Something Else!!!! (1958) is jazz saxophonist Ornette Coleman’s debut album and helped introduced the world to him as a seminal improviser and composer. This SACD edition, exclusive to, has been newly mastered by legendary engineer Bernie Grundman, who like Coleman, got his start at Contemporary Records.

Featuring Coleman’s working band of Don Cherry, pianist Walter Norris, bassist Don Payne and drummer Billy Higgins, the album Something Else!!!! sounds less radical today than strikingly individual and steeped in the blues. With nine Coleman originals, the session introduced several tunes that became standards, including “The Blessing” and “When Will the Blues Leave?”.

Ornette Coleman - Tomorrow is the Question! (SACD)

Ornette Coleman’s second album Tomorrow is the Question! (1959) has been newly mastered by Bernie Grundman from the original tapes for this new SACD format. Featuring Don CherryShelly Manne, and either Percy Heath or Red Mitchell on bass, the emphatic, pianoless Tomorrow Is the Question! made it clear that Coleman’s concepts were both insistently innovative and tethered to bedrock African American idioms. Consisting entirely of Coleman originals, the album introduced several tunes that became an essential part of the jazz canon, including “Tears Inside,” “Rejoicing” and “Turnaround.” 

    Something Else!!!!: The Music of Ornette Coleman (SACD)
    1. Invisible (4:43)
    2. The Blessing (4:45)
    3. Jayne (7:17)
    4. Chippie (5:37)
    5. The Disguise (2:48)
    6. Angel Voice (4:30)
    7. Alpha (4:12)
    8. When Will The Blues Leave? (4:56)
    9. The Sphinx (4:14)

    Tomorrow is the Question! : The New Music of Ornette Coleman (SACD)
    1. Tomorrow Is The Question! (3:09)
    2. Tears Inside (5:00)
    3. Mind And Time (3:08)
    4. Compassion (4:37)
    5. Giggin' (3:19)
    6. Rejoicing (4:04)
    7. Lorraine (5:55)
    8. Turnaround (7:55)
    9. Endless (5:18)

    • Both albums were recorded by Contemporary Records' legendary engineer Roy DuNann and are newly mastered from the original tapes by Bernie Grundman.